Gitana in the wake of passion

By creating Gitana Team in 2000, Baron Benjamin de Rothschild has transformed into a school of excellence what is a family passion first etched out by his forebears in 1876 on the shores of Lake Geneva. Due to celebrate its 140th anniversary in 2016, the Gitana legend is a reflection of its creators: innovative, modern and resolutely geared towards the future.

Reading + Play the Saga in video

Gitana, a legendary saga

For nearly 140 years, “Gitana” has conjured up images of a line of boats, which tell of a family passion that has constantly been nourished by a taste for excellence. The Rothschilds are continuing a maritime tradition of life management skills and innovation, performance and daring.

Once upon a time… in 1876

The history of the Gitana fleet began on the shores of Lake Geneva with Baroness Julie Caroline de Rothschild. This woman certainly boasted a sturdy character, but most of all she was known for her immoderate taste for speed, provided it was in the wake of a boat. In 1876, she commissioned a boat at the Thornycroft yard in Chiswick. Built in England then, on the banks of the River Thames, this first craft would be dismantled, put into crates then definitively assembled near Lausanne. At the helm of Gitana, the first of that name, a very chic 24-metre auxiliary schooner, Baron Benjamin de Rothschild’s great-great-aunt was the first to exceed the 20-knot barrier and in so doing secured the title of fastest Yachting Lady on the water: it’s 3 April 1879. The industrial revolution is underway and innovation at that time is combined with the powerful inspiration of steam engines. In the fabulous alpine setting, Gustave Eiffel himself is racing against the Gitanas aboard his famous Walkyrie. Reputed to be very fast, French destroyers soon put paid to Baroness de Rothschild’s record. That’s just too bad… she launches Gitana II, which is bigger and above all faster. Aboard this latest creation, “Gitane” secures a new record, just over 26 knots or nearly 50 kilometres an hour. The Gitana saga has begun and soon it is to enjoy a taste of the saltwater as suddenly the bluish setting of Lake Geneva is no longer enough.

The Gitana saga is born of an incredible passion for speed across the water

Much more than fine living

At the tail end of the 19th century, the ‘first’ Baron Edmond de Rothschild played a decisive role in the development of the Yacht Club de France alongside his cousin, Baron Arthur, the President of the Republic Félix Faure and the explorer Jean-Baptiste Charcot.
In the 60s, the ‘second’ Baron Edmond, his grandson, revived the family’s keen interest in boats by transforming it into a genuine passion for sailing. He traded motorboats for sailboats and demonstrated a penchant for monohulls. Edmond de Rothschild was to give rise to some of the best craft of his day. From Gitana III to Gitana VIII, designed by the most prominent firms of naval architects, his boats scoured the English Channel, the Atlantic and the Mediterranean, making a clean sweep of the prizes: RORC races, Giraglia, Nioulargue (Les Voiles de St Tropez) and the legendary Fastnet Race, on which in 1965 Gitana IV broke the 26-year old event record!
Baron Edmond de Rothschild developed a real passion for these big boats, where the crew takes on its true meaning and it was in this spirit that he launched the A Class or “Maxi” in 1984, of which he was the founder and first president. However, his taste for beautiful boats also led him towards the international 6-metre class (6mJI), genuine jewels of elegance and rapidity. Gitana Senior, nicknamed the Piano, was to be the first of this line, whilst Benjamin de Rothschild also launched himself into the adventure aboard Gitana Junior I, II and III, particularly during the Régates Royales in Cannes. The story wouldn’t be complete without referring to Gitana Sixty, an 8mJI launched in 1986 to compete in the World Cup for the series in Cannes and so christened to celebrate Baron Edmond de Rothschild’s 60th birthday that same year. The crew put together around Benjamin de Rothschild and helmsman Philippe Durr went on to win the event hands down, the son offering the prestigious title to his father.

Each generation carries on the maritime tradition and leaves a singular imprint

When professionalisation rhymes with passion

Edmond de Rothschild passed on the sailing bug to his son. A loyal member of the crew aboard his father’s yachts, sailing and what is more sailing competitions are an integral part of Baron Benjamin de Rothschild’s genes. However his preference very quickly focused on multihulls, fabulous machines that combine technology and speed and which, very early on, he perceived as the future of sailing.
After several years sailing aboard Force Cash, a 40-foot catamaran, on the waters of Lake Geneva, Baron Benjamin de Rothschild couldn’t resist the call of the open ocean. He purchased the ex-Elf- Aquitaine, a 60-foot trimaran, which was to go by the name of Gitana IX. The adventure is very much on and the owner of the five-arrow team opens a chapter on multihulls in his family’s prestigious maritime history.
From 2000, Gitana X, Gitana 11 and also Gitana 12 rank among the major protagonists from the golden age of the Orma class. However, this notoriety is soon to stretch beyond France’s borders with the maxi-catamaran Gitana 13’s record campaign on all the globe’s seas, and, in another style entirely, by the Extreme40 Edmond de Rothschild’s 4-year campaign on the international Extreme Sailing Series circuit. In 2010, with the Route du Rhum opening its doors to multihulls in the Ultime class, the links with craft of gigantic proportions are renewed. Gitana 11, the trimaran that became legendary after her dazzling victory in the Route du Rhum 2006, would be extended to 77-feet (compared with the original 60) to integrate this category. It was during this same period that construction began on the MOD70 Edmond de Rothschild, rechristened as a Multi70 since the demise of the Multi One Design. In 2013, it was the turn of the flying boats to put in an appearance in the watersports arena; a technological turning point that the team founded by Baron Benjamin de Rothschild would not miss for all the world. This approach is reflected in the modifications made to the Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild, as well as the acquisition of a GC32, a small 32-foot flying catamaran, which perfectly encapsulates the revolution that is underway.

From the unfailing support of passionate boat owners and the relentless work of a team are born a series of unforgettable human adventures and resounding victories: Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre, Transpac, New York - San Francisco Record, Tea Route and also the legendary OSTAR (The Transat)… An historic multihull protagonist on a global scale for the past 15 years, Baron Benjamin de Rothschild has transformed a family passion into a school of excellence.

Though the multihull remains the stable’s favourite craft, a selection of monohulls has found a place for itself here. An agreed ‘departure’ from its course comes about for the sheer beauty of a race that goes by the nickname of the Everest of the Seas and the human and sporting challenge it represents: the Vendée Globe. In this way, over the course of the winter 2006-2007, a 60-foot Imoca class is built with the utmost discretion in New Zealand. Launched in July 2007, the yacht is to be christened Gitana Eighty in tribute to Baron Benjamin de Rothschild’s father, Edmond de Rothschild, who would have celebrated his 80th birthday during her launch. This year, a brand new monohull designed by naval architect Guillaume Verdier and built by the Multiplast yard in Vannes, is also making its appearance in the Gitana fleet. It’s at the helm of this latest generation yacht that Sébastien Josse will defend the colours of the Edmond de Rothschild Group during the next round the world race via the three capes without stopovers and without assistance, the start of which is scheduled for 6 November 2016.

In 2016, the Gitana Saga will celebrate the 140th anniversary of its incredible history.

The Legend

  • Year
  • Races
  • Boats
From - recent
to + recent
From + recent
to - recent
Invert
  • 2017
  • SEP.
  • AUG.
  • JUI.
  • JUN.
  • MAY.
  • APR.
  • MAR.
  • FEB.
  • JAN.
+
legendaries

Gitana dans le sillage d'une passion

En créant le Gitana Team en 2000, le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild a transformé en école de l’excellence la passion familiale initiée par ses aïeux en 1876 sur les rives du Lac Léman. Alors qu’elle célèbrera ses 140 ans en 2016, la légende des Gitana est à l’image de ses créateurs : innovante, moderne et résolument tournée vers l’avenir.

En lire + Jouer La Saga en vidéo

Gitana, une saga de légende

Depuis bientôt 140 ans, « Gitana » évoque d’emblée une lignée de bateaux qui dit la passion d’une famille animée depuis toujours du goût de l’excellence. Les Rothschild perpétuent une tradition maritime faite de savoir-vivre et d’innovation, de performance et d’audace.

Il était une fois… en 1876

L’histoire des Gitana débute sur les rives du lac Léman avec la Baronne Julie Caroline de Rothschild. Cette femme a certes un caractère bien trempé mais surtout un goût immodéré pour la vitesse, pourvu qu’elle se matérialise dans le sillage d’un bateau. En 1876, elle passe commande d’un bateau aux chantiers Thornycroft de Chiswick. Construite en Angleterre sur les bords de la Tamise, cette première unité sera démontée, mise en caisses puis définitivement assemblée non loin de Lausanne. A la barre de Gitana premier du nom, une très chic goélette de 24 mètres, l’arrière-grand-tante du Baron Benjamin de Rothschild dépasse la première la barre des 20 nœuds et décroche du coup le titre de la Yachting Lady la plus rapide sur l’eau : nous sommes le 3 avril 1879. La révolution industrielle est en marche et l’innovation se conjugue à l’époque dans le souffle puissant des machines à vapeur. Dans le fabuleux décor alpin, Gustave Eiffel lui-même régate contre les Gitana à bord de son fameux Walkyrie. Réputés très rapides, les contre-torpilleurs français vont bientôt mettre à mal le record de la Baronne de Rothschild. Qu’à cela ne tienne ; elle lance Gitana II, plus grand et surtout plus rapide. A son bord, la Gitane s’adjuge un nouveau record, 26 nœuds et des poussières, près de 50 kilomètres heure. La saga Gitana est lancée et va désormais goûter à l’eau salée, car l’écrin bleuté du lac Léman ne suffit plus.

La saga Gitana est née d’une incroyable passion pour la vitesse sur l’eau

Bien plus qu’un art de vivre

A la fin du XIXe siècle, le « premier » Baron Edmond de Rothschild avait pris une part déterminante au développement du Yacht Club de France aux côtés de son cousin, le Baron Arthur, du président de la République Félix Faure et de l’explorateur Jean-Baptiste Charcot.
Dans les années 60, le « second » Baron Edmond, son petit-fils, ranime le vif intérêt qu’éprouve sa famille pour les bateaux en le transformant en une véritable passion pour la voile. Il délaisse les bateaux à moteur pour ceux à voiles et ses navires de prédilection seront les monocoques. Edmond de Rothschild donnera naissance à quelques uns des meilleurs de son temps. De Gitana III à Gitana VIII, issus des cabinets d’architectes les plus en vue, ses unités écument la Manche, l’Atlantique, la Méditerranée et trustent les palmarès : courses du RORC, Giraglia, Nioulargue ou encore la mythique Fastnet Race sur laquelle Gitana IV battra, en 1965, le record de l’épreuve vieux de 26 ans !
Le Baron Edmond de Rothschild se passionne pour ces grands bateaux où l’équipage prend toute sa mesure et c’est dans cet esprit qu’en 1984 il lance la Classe A dite des « Maxi » dont il sera le fondateur et le premier président. Mais son goût pour les beaux bateaux le conduit également vers les 6 mètres jauge internationale (6mJI), de véritables bijoux d’élégance et de rapidité. Gitana Senior, surnommé le Piano, sera le premier de cette lignée tandis que Benjamin de Rothschild se lancera également dans l’aventure à bord de Gitana Junior I, II et III notamment lors des Régates Royales de Cannes. L’histoire ne serait pas complète sans évoquer Gitana Sixty, un 8mJI lancé en 1986 pour disputer la Coupe du Monde de la série à Cannes et baptisé ainsi pour les 60 ans du Baron Edmond de Rothschild célébrés cette même année. L’équipage composé autour de Benjamin de Rothschild et du barreur Philippe Durr remportera l’épreuve haut la main et le fils offrira ce prestigieux titre à son père.

Chaque génération perpétue la tradition maritime et laisse une empreinte singulière

Quand professionnalisation rime avec passion

Edmond de Rothschild a transmis le virus de la voile à son fils. Fidèle équipier à bord des voiliers de son père, la navigation et de surcroît la compétition vélique sont inscrites dans l’ADN du Baron Benjamin de Rothschild. Mais sa préférence se porte très vite sur les multicoques, de fabuleuses machines qui allient technologie et vélocité et dans lesquelles il perçoit très tôt l’avenir de la voile. Après quelques années de navigations à bord de Force Cash sur les eaux du lac Léman, un catamaran de 40 pieds, le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild ne peut résister à l’appel du grand large. Il fait l’acquisition de l’ancien Elf-Aquitaine, un trimaran de 60 pieds qui sera baptisé Gitana IX. L’aventure est lancée et l’armateur de l’équipe aux cinq flèches ouvre le chapitre des multicoques dans la prestigieuse histoire maritime de sa famille.
Dans les années 2000, Gitana X, Gitana 11 ou encore Gitana 12 compteront parmi les grands animateurs des belles heures de la classe Orma. Mais cette notoriété dépassera bientôt les frontières hexagonales avec la campagne de records du maxi-catamaran Gitana 13 sur tous les mers du globe ou dans un tout autre style les quatre années de participations de l’Extreme40 Edmond de Rothschild au circuit international des Extreme Sailing Series. L’année 2010, avec l’ouverture de la Route du Rhum aux multicoques de la classe Ultime, renoue avec le gigantisme. Gitana 11, le trimaran devenu légendaire après sa victoire éclatante dans la Route du Rhum 2006, sera allongé à 77 pieds (contre 60 à l’origine) pour intégrer cette catégorie. C’est à cette même période que démarre la construction du MOD70 Edmond de Rothschild, rebaptisé Multi70 depuis suite à la fin des Multi One Design. En 2013 c’est au tour des bateaux volants de faire leur entrée dans le nautisme ; un virage technologique que l’équipe fondée par le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild ne manquera pas. Non seulement avec les modifications apportées au Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild mais aussi par l’acquisition d’un GC32, petit catamaran volant de 32 pieds qui incarne parfaitement la révolution en marche.

Mais si le multicoque demeure le support fétiche de l’écurie, quelques monocoques ont su y trouver leur place. Une « entorse » consentie pour la beauté de la course que l’on surnomme l’Everest des mers et le défi humain et sportif qu’elle représente: le Vendée Globe. Ainsi, durant l’hiver 2006-2007, un 60 pieds de la classe Imoca est construit dans le plus grand secret en Nouvelle-Zélande. Lancé en juillet 2007, le voilier sera baptisé Gitana Eighty en hommage au père du Baron Benjamin de Rothschild, Edmond de Rothschild, qui aurait fêté ses 80 ans lors de sa mise à l’eau. Cette année, un monocoque flambant neuf signé par l’architecte Guillaume Verdier et construit par le chantier Multiplast de Vannes fait également son entrée au sein de la flotte Gitana. C’est à la barre de ce voilier de dernière génération que Sébastien Josse défendra les couleurs du Groupe Edmond de Rothschild lors du prochain tour du monde par les trois caps sans escale et sans assistance, dont le départ est prévu le 6 novembre 2016.

Du soutien indéfectible d’armateurs passionnés et du travail acharné d’une équipe sont nées d’inoubliables aventures humaines et des victoires retentissantes : Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre, Transpacifique, Record New York - San Francisco, Route du Thé ou encore la mythique Transat anglaise… Acteur historique du multicoque à l’échelle mondiale depuis 15 ans, le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild a mué une passion familiale en école de l’excellence.

En 2016, la Saga Gitana célèbrera les 140 ans de son incroyable histoire.

La Légende

  • Année
  • Courses
  • Bateaux
Du - récent
au + récent
Du + récent
au - récent
Inverser
  • 2017
  • JAN.
+
de légendes