A fully carbon, 40-foot one-design catamaran, the Extreme 40 Edmond de Rothschild competed for 4 seasons (2009-2012) in the international Extreme Sailing Series circuit.

FRA 40

Sail number

Given name
Category 40-foot catamaran Loa 12.19 m
Upwind sail area 100 m² Downwind sail area 153 m²
Year of launch 2009

Born from the collaboration of the Olympic Tornado champion, Yves Loday, and the Tornado Sport company, this boat is particularly sensitive to trimming and has an interesting distinction: she can be fully dismantled and has been designed and built to fit into the equivalent length container. This enables the members of the shore crew to assemble her and rig her in one day, and above all, she can be taken along to some rather atypical race zones, which are unique to the Extreme Sailing Series circuit.

Indeed, behind this 40-foot catamaran, more than just a craft, there is a whole concept. Launched in 2007 on the initiative of OC Sport, the Extreme Sailing Series has enjoyed increasing success, going on to become one of the reference circuits on an international scale thanks to some top-flight line-ups where dinghy sailing champions and offshore aficionados, all nationalities combined, cross tacks with one another and compete on equal terms. From the outset, the aim asserted by the organisers was to enable the public to get right up close to the action and thus democratise sailing a little more, in a resolutely spectacular ambiance. This is why they have always favoured race zones that are immediately bordering the coast, or within the cities themselves: in the very heart of the canals of Amsterdam, at the foot of the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado mountains in Rio de Janeiro as well as on the Turkish waters of the Bosphorus… The only one of its kind, this circuit combines a clever mixture of competition and spectacle, proving to be tremendously successful for the owner of Gitana Team during the various multihull Grand Prix events.

Always at the front of the fleet, winning a number of meetings and a plethora of podiums in the annual championship over the course of its four seasons on the circuit, the crew of Edmond de Rothschild was unquestionably one of the major protagonists of the series from 2009 to 2012.

Track record

  • 2011-2012
  • Winner of the Nice Grand Prix 2011 and 2012
  • Winner of the Oman Grand Prix
  • 2010
  • Winner of the Sète Grand Prix
  • Winner of the Kiel Grand Prix
  • 2009
  • Winner of the Venice Grand Prix
  • Winner of the Amsterdam Grand Prix
  • 2nd in the Annual Championship in 2009, 2010 and 2011
  • 2012
  • 3rd in the Annual Championship