Send this page to a friend






Transat Jacques Vabre
Back to the legend Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild

Transat Jacques Vabre

Start 25th of October

Photos

Videos

Transat Jacques Vabre - A cut-down edition
Webzine 7 - Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 Special
See you in Le Havre !
In the wake of Gitana #6
Foil attitude

News from Transat Jacques Vabre

  • Sort by content type
Headlines
Article

Back in Lorient

On Monday evening, shortly before 18:00 GMT, after over 24 hours among the front runners, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier contacted their shore crew via the intermediary of its Director Cyril Dardashti. The Edmond de Rothschild duo informed him of its decision to turn back and retire from the Transat Jacques Vabre 2015. It was a mutual decision made between one sailor and another that was tough but carefully thought out given a string of technical issues with the rig, which no longer ensured...

See more +
26 October
Article

Retirement of the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild

Having posted a superb start to the race and whilst leading the westerly group at the last ranking, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier have just announced their retirement. It's a terribly tough decision for the two competitors but one dictated by their seamanship and the desire to get the most recent of the Gitana fleet safely back to port. The crew is in good health and has not requested assistance. The Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild has turned back and is making for its home port of Lorient,...

See more +
26 October
Article

Leading the sprint westwards

Having set sail from Le Havre at 12:30 GMT yesterday, the Transat Jacques Vabre fleet didn't hang about in the English Channel despite a very laboured coastal course to Etretat. With a south-easterly wind building to over 20 knots once they were across the Baie de Seine, the twenty competing Imocas were able to pick up the pace and the most recent additions to the class got a chance to let their foils do the talking. At this particular game, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier have clearly been...

See more +
25 October
Article

In the right wagon

It was at 12:30 GMT on the dot, in line with the Sailing Instructions, that the Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 got underway. The start was given in particularly light conditions that were more reminiscent of summer. Indeed, at kick-off time, the wind barely put in an appearance and the fleet struggled to extract themselves from the clutches of the start zone. In these tricky conditions, the Josse Caudrelier duo put up a stellar performance to ensure that the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild made towards...

See more +
25 October
Article

Race start and tracking of the Transat Jacques Vabre so you don't miss a thing!

It's at 12:30 GMT this Sunday, offshore of Cap de la Hève that the 12th Transat Jacques Vabre will kick off. However, the Edmond de Rothschild duo and the forty-one other pairings competing in this 2015 edition are already out on the water, off Le Havre, where they will have to sit it out until the starting gun releases them on this famous transatlantic race. As such, we take this opportunity to review how to track the start and the race using a device set up by the organisation and the Gitana Team.

See more +
24 October
Article

The calm before the storm

For several days, the forty-two duos competing in the Transat Jacques Vabre have been glued to the grib files. With 24 hours until the start which, subject to last minute changes, will set sail tomorrow, Sunday 25 October at 12:30 GMT, the forecasts are becoming more refined and have finally revealed the scenario for the first few days of racing in this 2015 edition. After a gentle introduction and what promises to be an express exit from the English Channel, things are set to get complicated in...

See more +
23 October
Large format

The generation game

On Sunday 25 October at 12:30 GMT, a fleet of some twenty Imoca monohulls will set sail from Le Havre to compete in the Transat Jacques Vabre. The 2015 edition of the famous double-handed transatlantic race, bound for Brazil, heralds the first official confrontation for the boats from the new and the old generation, in other words, those equipped with foils against those with classic daggerboards. And with a year to go until the Vendée Globe, suffice to say that this is an eagerly awaited moment....

See more +
22 October
Article

Sailing double-handed or the art of hitting it off

This Sunday at 12:30GMT, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier will take the start of the Transat Jacques Vabre: 5,400 nautical miles, or 10,000km, bound for Itajai in Brazil. Created in 1993, the race is contested every two years and is none other than the reference double-handed offshore event and the longest of the transatlantic races. To stand a chance of scoring a win, the twenty duos competing in the Imoca class will have to be all-rounders: capable of controlling their steed, refining their...

See more +
21 October
Large format

You don't change a winning team!

With just four days until the race start and after the final moments with family, the Edmond de Rothschild duo returned to Le Havre this Wednesday, ready to set sail across the Atlantic and keen to size up the nineteen other pretenders to victory in the Imoca class. Two years ago, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier were already present in the Bassin Paul Vatine. Back then they were one of the crews, which had heralded the return of the big multihulls in this major double-handed event that boasts...

See more +
20 October
Article

The foil, how does it work?

This is one of the major new features of this 5th generation imoca monohull. Since their arrival on the scene the foils have caused a lot of ink to flow and unleashed great passion. indeed, there are both supporters and opponents of these new appendages, whose very shape is reminiscent of the moustaches of a famous Spanish painter. An unquestionable architectural development, foils are nonetheless a daring challenge for those who have opted to equip their steed with such a device.

See more +
20 October
Large format

The lucky star!

The images of the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild filmed in the breezy conditions of late August leave us in no doubt as to the toughness of the latest generation Imocas. Increasingly quick, the machines really put the sailors' bodies to the test. Moving around, manoeuvring when the wind kicks up a notch and the sea builds, everything becomes complicated aboard. Within this context, eating is more of an obligation than a pleasure. However, aboard the monohull fitted out by Baron Benjamin de Rothschild,...

See more +
17 October
Article

In position!

On Friday morning, as set out in the Sailing Instructions, the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild made her entrance into the Bassin Paul Vatine. Her arrival coincided with the start of festivities for the 12th edition of the Transat Jacques Vabre, which marks the final phase of preparation for Gitana Team. Indeed next Sunday the fleet competing in this famous transatlantic race between Le Havre and Itajai will set sail on the 5,400-mile course across the North Atlantic, culminating with a southward descent...

See more +
16 October
Large format

Review of the genesis of the most recent Gitana

Launched on 7 August 2015, the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild will take the start of her first race in ten days' time: the famous Transat Jacques Vabre between Le Havre and Itajai in Brazil. We take the opportunity to look back at the genesis of the second IMOCA in the Gitana saga, a latest generation Verdier creation designed for the next Vendée Globe.

See more +
15 October
Article

Pit Stop in St Malo before Le Havre

Having set sail from her port of registry in Lorient yesterday to make for Le Havre, the start venue for the Transat Jacques Vabre, the most recent addition to the Gitana fleet was making headway offshore of northern Brittany. At around 12:30am GMT, whilst close-hauled but slightly freed off in around fifteen knots of northerly breeze, the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild suffered boom damage. This technical incident means that Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier are compelled to make a short stopover...

See more +
25 September
Article

First encounter with the competition

In exactly three weeks time, the fleet of the Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 must be in Le Havre, the historic start venue for the Coffee Route. And in one month to the day, the forty-two duos competing in the 12th edition of the famous transatlantic race will set sail for Itajai in Brazil. The countdown is very much on then for Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier, who are today participating in the Trophée Azimut. This annual meeting in Lorient, south-west Brittany, which consists of a long coastal...

See more +
14 September
Article

Qualified!

Launched on 7 August 2005 in Vannes, south-west Brittany, it has taken two months and nine days for the Gitana Team to make the brand new Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild reliable and get a true feel for her prior to her first official competition. Indeed, she will take the start of the 12th edition of the Transat Jacques Vabre on 25 October in Le Havre. Suffice to say that with such a tight schedule and a machine as fabulous as she is complicated to fine-tune, every day counts and every sea trial is...

See more +
27 August
Article

First spectacular tacks

Launched on 7 August in Vannes, after an eleven-month build at the Multiplast yard, le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild was able to put in her first tacks just ten days later offshore of the team's base in Lorient. However, on Monday of this week, thanks to a boisterous low off the north-west tip of Brittany, Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier (his co-skipper for the Transat Jacques Vabre) opted to trial the machine in some blustery conditions. It proved to be a rather bracing sail which photographer...

See more +
24 June
Article

Sébastien Josse and Charles Caudrelier, the winning duo to reform

In a little over a month, Gitana will launch the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild. The second Imoca in the history of the racing stable fitted out by Baron Benjamin de Rothschild, this new craft will quickly hit the campaign trail. Indeed, after an express tuning phase in August and September, the most recent in the legendary family saga will use the Transat Jacques Vabre, due to set sail from Le Havre on 25 October 2015, to size up the competition. For this first foray, Sébastien Josse has opted to...

See more +
+
News

Envoyer cette page à un ami






Transat Jacques Vabre
Retour à la légende Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild

Transat Jacques Vabre

Départ le 25 octobre

Tous les deux ans, la crème de la voile se donne rendez-vous au Havre pour disputer la Transat Jacques Vabre, qui n'est autre que l'épreuve référence du double au large, la plus longue des transatlantiques.

Photos

Vidéos

Transat Jacques Vabre - Une édition écourtée
Webzine 7 - Spécial Transat Jacques Vabre 2015
Rendez-vous au Havre !
Dans le sillage de Gitana #6
Foil attitude

Actualités de Transat Jacques Vabre

  • Trier par type de contenu
A la une
Article

De retour à Lorient

Lundi soir, peu avant 19h, et tandis qu'ils animaient l'avant de la course depuis plus de 24h, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier contactaient leur équipe à terre par l'intermédiaire de son directeur Cyril Dardashti. Le duo d'Edmond de Rothschild lui annonçait sa décision de faire demi-tour et d'abandonner la Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 ; un choix de marin, difficile mais mûrement réfléchi et partagé, face à une série d'incidents techniques sur le gréement qui n'assurait plus la parfaite...

En voir +
26 octobre
Article

Abandon du Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild

Auteurs d'un remarqué début de course et tandis qu'ils emmenaient au dernier pointage le groupe de l'Ouest, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier viennent d'annoncer leur abandon. Un choix plus que difficile pour les deux compétiteurs mais dicté par leur sens marin et le souhait de ramener le dernier-né des Gitana à bon port. L'équipage est en bonne santé et n'a pas demandé assistance. Le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild a fait demi-tour et mis le cap vers Lorient, son port d'attache, qu'il...

En voir +
26 octobre
Article

En approche

Après seulement 24 heures de course, la 12e édition de la Transat Jacques Vabre dévoile un caractère bien trempé ! En effet, dès les premières heures de course, les quarante-deux duos engagés ont dû faire des choix de route tranchés. Au sein de la flotte Imoca, la scission a eu lieu dès le passage des îles anglo-normandes avec d'un côté les partisans de l'Ouest - la large majorité - et de l'autre un groupe de cinq privilégiant la route directe, cap au Sud-Ouest. Ce dernier profite...

En voir +
26 octobre
Article

Ouvreur dans l'Ouest

Partie hier à 13h30 du Havre, la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre n'a pas traîné en Manche malgré un parcours de départ vers Etretat des plus poussifs. Avec un vent de Sud-Est forcissant au-delà des 20 nœuds dès la traversée de la Baie de Seine, les vingt Imoca engagés ont en effet pu accélérer la cadence et les nouveau-nés de la classe faire parler les « foils ». A ce jeu là, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier ont été bien inspirés. Menant le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild...

En voir +
25 octobre
Article

Dans le bon paquet

C'est à 13h30 tapantes, conformément aux instructions de course, que la Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 s'est élancée. Un départ donné par un temps de demoiselle particulièrement exceptionnel pour la saison. En effet, lors du coup de canon, le vent était quasiment aux abonnés absents et la flotte peinait à s'extirper des griffes de la zone de départ. Dans ces conditions délicates, le duo Josse - Caudrelier parvenait à tirer son épingle du jeu et pointait l'étrave du Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild...

En voir +
25 octobre
Article

Départ et suivi de la Transat Jacques Vabre, ne rien manquer !

C'est à 13h30 ce dimanche, au large du Cap de la Hève, que sera donné le départ de la 12e Transat Jacques Vabre. Mais dès à présent, le duo d'Edmond de Rothschild et les quarante et un binômes engagés dans cette édition 2015 sont en mer, devant Le Havre, où ils devront patienter jusqu'au fameux coup de canon. L'occasion de faire un point sur le suivi du départ puis de la course mis en place par l'organisation et le Gitana Team.

En voir +
24 octobre
Article

Le calme avant la tempête

Depuis plusieurs jours, les quarante-deux duos engagés dans la Transat Jacques Vabre ont les yeux rivés sur les fichiers météorologiques. À 24 heures du départ, qui sauf retournement de dernière minute sera bien donné demain - dimanche 25 octobre - à 13h30, les prévisions s'affinent et nous livrent enfin le scénario des premiers jours de course de cette édition 2015. Après une entrée en matière tout en douceur et une sortie de Manche qui s'annonce express, l'histoire va se compliquer...

En voir +
23 octobre
Grand format

Le combat des générations

Dimanche 25 octobre à 13h30, c'est une flotte de vingt monocoques Imoca qui s'élancera du Havre pour disputer la Transat Jacques Vabre. L'édition 2015 de la célèbre transatlantique en double, à destination du Brésil, marque la première confrontation officielle des bateaux de nouvelle et d'ancienne génération, autrement dit ceux équipés de dérives foil contre ceux dotés de dérives droites. Et à un an du Vendée Globe, autant dire que le moment est particulièrement attendu. Mais les...

En voir +
23 octobre
Article

Comment suivre la Transat Jacques Vabre ?

Le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild prendra le départ de la 12ème Transat Jacques Vabre ce dimanche à 13h30.

En voir +
22 octobre
Article

Le double ou l'art de faire bon ménage

Dimanche à 13h30, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier prendront le départ de la Transat Jacques Vabre: 5 400 milles nautiques, soit 10 000 km, direction Itajaí au Brésil. Créée en 1993, la course se dispute tous les deux ans et n'est autre que l'épreuve référence du double au large, la plus longue des transatlantiques. Pour espérer l'emporter, les vingt binômes engagés dans la classe Imoca devront être complets: maîtriser leur monture, affiner leur stratégie, appréhender la météo...

En voir +
21 octobre
Grand format

On ne change pas une équipe qui gagne

A quatre jours du grand départ, et après des derniers moments en famille, le duo Edmond de Rothschild est de retour au Havre ce mercredi ; prêt à s'élancer sur l'Atlantique et impatient d'aller se mesurer aux dix-neuf autres prétendants de la classe Imoca. Il y a deux ans, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier étaient déjà présents dans le bassin Paul Vatine. Ils comptaient parmi les équipages qui avaient initié le retour des grands multicoques sur cette épreuve majeure du double, la...

En voir +
20 octobre
Article

Dérives foil, comment ça marche ?

Elles sont l'une des grandes nouveautés de cette 5e génération de monocoques Imoca. Depuis leur apparition, les dérives foil font couler beaucoup d'encre et déchaînent les passions... Il y a en effet les sympathisants et les opposants à ces nouveaux appendices qui, de par leur forme, font immanquablement penser aux moustaches d'un illustre peintre espagnol. Évolution architecturale incontestable, les dérives foil sont malgré tout un pari audacieux pour ceux qui ont choisi d'en doter leur...

En voir +
20 octobre
Grand format

La bonne étoile

Les images du Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild tournées fin août dans la brise ne laissent aucun doute sur la dureté des Imoca de dernière génération. De plus en plus rapides, les machines mettent à rude épreuve les organismes des marins qui embarquent à leur bord. Se déplacer, manœuvrer quand le vent monte d'un cran et que la mer se forme tout devient compliqué à bord. Dans ce contexte, s'alimenter relève plus de l'obligation que du plaisir. Mais à bord du monocoque armé par le Baron...

En voir +
17 octobre
Article

En place !

Vendredi matin, comme prévu dans les instructions de course, le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild a fait son entrée dans le bassin Paul Vatine. Une arrivée qui coïncide avec le début des festivités de la 12e édition de la Transat Jacques Vabre et qui marque la phase finale de préparation du Gitana Team. Car dimanche prochain la flotte de la célèbre transatlantique entre Le Havre et Itajaí s'élancera pour 5 400 milles nautiques à travers l'Atlantique Nord puis Sud à destination du Brésil.

En voir +
16 octobre
Grand format

Retour sur la genèse du dernier-né des Gitana

Mis à l'eau le 7 aout 2015, le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild prendra dans dix jours le départ de sa première course : la célèbre Transat Jacques Vabre entre Le Havre et Itajai au Brésil. L'occasion de revenir sur la genèse du deuxième IMOCA de la Saga Gitana, un plan Verdier de dernière génération destiné au prochain Vendée Globe.

En voir +
16 octobre
Article

Rendez-vous au Havre !

En voir +
15 octobre
Article

Pit-Stop malouin avant Le Havre

Parti de son port d'attache lorientais hier pour rallier Le Havre, ville de départ de la Transat Jacques Vabre, le dernier-né des Gitana croisait cette nuit au large des côtes nord bretonnes. Vers 2h30, tandis qu'il naviguait au près débridé dans un vent de Nord d'une quinzaine de noeuds, le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild a connu une avarie de bôme*. Un incident technique qui oblige Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier à faire une courte escale à Saint-Malo.

En voir +
25 septembre
Article

Première rencontre avec la concurrence

Dans trois semaines très précisément, la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre 2015 devra avoir rejoint le Havre, ville de départ historique de la Route du Café. Et dans un mois, jour pour jour, les quarante-deux duos engagés dans la 12e édition de la célèbre transatlantique, s'élanceront en direction d'Itajaí, au Brésil. Le compte à rebours est bel et bien lancé pour Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier, qui participent dès aujourd'hui au Trophée Azimut. Ce rendez-vous annuel lorientais,...

En voir +
14 septembre
Article

Qualifiés !

Deux mois et neuf jours ; tel est le temps dont dispose le Gitana Team pour fiabiliser et prendre en main le tout nouveau Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild - mis à l'eau le 7 août dernier à Vannes - avant sa première sortie officielle en compétition. Ce sera le 25 octobre au départ du Havre pour la 12e édition de la Transat Jacques Vabre. Autant dire qu'avec ce timing serré et face à une machine tout aussi fabuleuse que complexe à mettre au point, chaque jour compte et chaque sortie est un bon...

En voir +
27 août
Article

Premiers bords spectaculaires

Mis à l'eau le 7 août dernier à Vannes, après onze mois de construction au sein du chantier Multiplast, le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild avait pu tirer ses premiers bords dix jours plus tard au large de sa base lorientaise. Mais lundi, à la faveur d'un passage dépressionnaire musclé sur la pointe Bretagne, Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier - son co-skipper pour la Transat Jacques Vabre - ont décidé d'aller tester la machine dans la brise ; une navigation tonique que Thierry Martinez,...

En voir +
24 juin
Article

Sébastien Josse et Charles Caudrelier, le duo gagnant reformé

Dans un peu plus d'un mois, Gitana mettra à l'eau le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild. Deuxième Imoca de l'histoire de l'écurie armée par le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild, cette nouvelle unité entrera rapidement dans le vif de la compétition. En effet, après une phase de mise au point express en août et septembre, le dernier-né de la légendaire saga familiale profitera de la Transat Jacques Vabre, dont le départ sera donné du Havre le 25 octobre prochain, pour faire ses gammes. Une première...

En voir +
15 juin
Article

Les travailleurs de l'ombre

Découvrez les membres du Gitana Team. Premier zoom sur les matheux de l'équipe.

En voir +
+
D'actualités