Send this page to a friend






Transat Jacques Vabre 2017
Back to the legend Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

Transat Jacques Vabre 2017

Photos

Videos

7d 23h 55m 24s, the results of a debut performance!
Day of arrival in Bahia
Taking-off for the Atlantic
First times series, #4 First race start
Maxi Edmond de Rothschild offshore pionneer
Objective Transat Jacques Vabre
Pirouetting across the Atlantic

News from Transat Jacques Vabre 2017

  • Sort by content type
Headlines
Large format

Analysis of the race aboard the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

All Saints' Bay was awaiting Prince de Bretagne yesterday evening to celebrate the Ultime podium for this 13th edition. Mechanical issues threw a spanner in the works alas. Indeed, positioned less than 100 miles from the finish line, the red trimaran dismasted, forcing her crew to retire from the race; a cruel situation so close to the goal. Three days after their arrival in Salvador de Bahia, the runners-up in the Transat Jacques Vabre review the broad outline of their race. The disappointment,...

See more +
13 November
Large format

Gitana Team: The Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, second in her first major transatlantic race!

The Transat Jacques Vabre 2017 delivered its verdict this Monday 13 November in the early hours of the morning (local time) in All Saints' Bay. The top-flight duel, which saw the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild do battle with Sodebo Ultim', resulted in victory for the black and orange trimaran helmed by Thomas Coville and Jean-Luc Nélias. For their first official race at the helm of Gitana 17, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel certainly put up a creditable performance! Indeed, they finished just 1hr...

See more +
12 November
Article

The last 24hrs en route to Bahia

The conclusion of the Transat Jacques Vabre is nigh for the front runners. Now with under 500 miles to go, these are the final hours at sea for the top duo in this 13th edition. On this seventh day of racing, the hierarchy remains unchanged in this thrilling sprint. After 4,000 miles of racing, the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild and Sodebo Ultim' are still virtually neck and neck, though in recent hours Thomas Coville and Jean-Luc Nélias, positioned further inshore, have been able to stretch away from...

See more +
11 November
Article

The Maxi Edmond de Rothschild in ambush

The Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone, which the Edmond de Rothschild duo entered yesterday evening at 8° North, was not a mere formality. In all probability, less sluggish than their competitors in the squalls, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel made the most of their 6th night at sea to close the gap in relation to Sodebo Ultim'. At the 12:00 UTC position report, with the exit from the doldrums taking shape, the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild was positioned just 7.4 miles astern of the leader of the...

See more +
10 November
Article

Homing in on the doldrums

The duel between the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild and Sodebo Ultim' is fiercer than ever at the head of the Transat Jacques Vabre race. The two leaders passed the Cape Verde islands over the course of the day and are now preparing to enter the infamous doldrums. Dreaded by sailors due to its random nature, the Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone does appear to be showing its best side to Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel. In any case, that's the feeling that emerges from the satellite observations. At...

See more +
08 November
Article

An African low pressure system set to colour play

Having covered over 1,600 miles of the 4,350 that make up the route between Le Havre and Salvador de Bahia, the Josse-Rouxel duo has already sailed over a third of the course after just three days at sea. The weather conditions the leaders of this Transat Jacques Vabre have encountered thus far have certainly favoured their ability to slip along at speed and the sailors are lapping it up. Since yesterday evening and her passage abeam of the Azores, the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild has been slipping...

See more +
07 November
Article

The Azores this evening

Leaders since the very first few hours of this 13th edition, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel are still heading the Transat Jacques Vabre fleet as it makes for Salvador de Bahia. Aboard the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, the duo negotiated the passage of a cold front to perfection last night and is now heading southwards towards the NE'ly trade winds. They boasted a 66-mile lead over their closest rival, Sodebo Ultim', at the 15:00 UTC ranking. Having covered some 950 miles since the start in Le Havre...

See more +
06 November
Article

On the front line

After leaving Le Havre yesterday at 12:35 UTC, this lunchtime the Transat Jacques Vabre fleet is being led down the Atlantic by the Josse - Rouxel duo aboard the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild. Setting sail with a degree of caution from the foot of the Cap de la Hève, the sailors that make up Gitana Team wasted no time in powering up and showing just what this latest addition to the Gitana fleet is made of. After an express exit from the English Channel, which they dealt with in just 9hrs at an average...

See more +
05 November
Large format

The 13th edition is off!

Clean start! As scheduled, the Transat Jacques Vabre fleet set sail this Sunday 5 November at exactly 12:35 UTC from the foot of the Cap de la Hève, just off the cliffs of Sainte-Adresse. In a medium W to NW'ly wind of around twenty knots and rough, choppy seas, the 37 competing duos set a course for Salvador de Bahia in Brazil, some 4,350 miles away. At the helm of the Maxi-Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel got off to a safe start.

See more +
04 November
Article

Conditions favourable for speed

Tomorrow, at 12:35 UTC, the 13th edition of the Transat Jacques Vabre will set sail. On the eve of the big day, the weather forecasts are becoming clearer and the start of the race is shaping up to be quick. Conditions will become more boisterous off the north-west tip of Brittany ready for the passage of a front, which is set to roll through late Monday. Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel will rapidly be in the thick of things.

See more +
03 November
Large format

The symbiosis of a duo

In less than forty-eight hours, the 38 duos competing in the Transat Jacques Vabre will set sail on the 13th edition of this famous double-handed transatlantic race bound for Brazil. Aboard the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel, well-versed in these pre-start phases, are calmly preparing for their race and are still willingly fulfilling their media obligations. Tomorrow, with the last briefing scheduled at 09:00 UTC, which will notably reference the weather for the initial...

See more +
01 November
Article

Transat Jacques Vabre, a North-South course bound for Brazil

From Le Havre to Salvador de Bahia, the 4,350 miles will lead the Transat Jacques Vabre fleet from the Alabaster Coast to Brazilian waters. This long diagonal route from the northern hemisphere to the southern hemisphere is a sprint across the Atlantic with an estimated race time of 8 to 10 days for the Ultimes. Offering a route that is as rich as it is demanding, as much meteorologically as strategically, the Route du Café is the longest of the transatlantic races!

See more +
31 October
Large format

Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, a pioneer of its kind

On 17 July 2017, after a twenty-month build and over 35,000 hours of studies, Ariane and Benjamin de Rothschild launched the latest addition to their offshore racing stable. The Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, a large oceanic trimaran measuring 32 metres long and 23 metres wide is now part of the long and rather illustrious line of Gitanas. This Sunday in Le Havre, Gitana 17 will be the first multihull designed to fly offshore to set sail on a transatlantic race. On-board will be two oceanic pioneers,...

See more +
27 October
Large format

In position in Le Havre!

The delivery trip between Lorient and Le Havre required a great deal of patience from the Gitana Team duo. Indeed, after setting sail from their base in Brittany's Morbihan region late afternoon on Wednesday, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel made landfall in Normandy early afternoon this Friday. 300 nautical miles, a mere drop in the ocean compared with what the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild is usually able to cover, but here persistent light airs punctuated the whole of their journey. Now, with some...

See more +
24 October
Large format

Up close and personal with the crew of the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

Tomorrow, the Maxi Edmond de Rothschild will set sail from her port of registry in Lorient bound for Le Havre, which will host the start of the Transat Jacques Vabre in 12 days' time. The latest addition to the Gitana fleet is expected in the Norman port by Friday 27 October at the latest, which is the date that local festivities commence. Aboard the boat during this 300-mile delivery trip punctuated by light airs, Sébastien Josse and Thomas Rouxel will take up position. It's time for the duo to...

See more +
+
News

Envoyer cette page à un ami






Transat Jacques Vabre 2017
Retour à la légende Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

Transat Jacques Vabre 2017

5 novembre 2017

Course transatlantique en double, ouverte aux monocoques et aux multicoques entre le Havre et Salvador de Bahia au Brésil. Créée en 1993, la Transat Jacques Vabre compte parmi les grandes courses au large françaises.

Photos

Vidéos

7j 23h 55m 24s, bilan d'une première !
Un jour d'arrivée à Bahia
Décollage Atlantique
Série "premières fois" #4 : 1er départ
Fonctionnement du duo Josse-Rouxel
Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, pionnier du large
Un objectif, la Transat Jacques Vabre
Les virevolteurs de l'Atlantique

Actualités de Transat Jacques Vabre 2017

  • Trier par type de contenu
A la une
Grand format

Analyse et film de la course du Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

La baie de tous les Saints attendait hier soir Prince de Bretagne pour célébrer le podium Ultime de cette 13e édition. La mécanique en aura décidé autrement. Tandis qu'il pointait à moins de 100 milles de la ligne, le trimaran rouge a démâté, obligeant son équipage à abandonner ; une situation cruelle si près du but. Trois jours après leur arrivée à Salvador de Bahia, les dauphins de la Transat Jacques Vabre reviennent eux sur les grandes lignes de leur course. La déception, largement...

En voir +
13 novembre
Grand format

Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, dauphin d'une grande transat pour sa première !

La Transat Jacques Vabre 2017 a livré son verdict ce lundi 13 novembre au petit matin (heure locale) dans la baie de tous les Saints. Le duel de haute volée, opposant le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild et Sodebo Ultim', s'est soldé par la victoire du trimaran noir et orange mené par Thomas Coville et Jean-Luc Nélias. Pour leur première sortie officielle à la barre de Gitana 17, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel n'ont pas démérité... loin de là ! Ils finissent à seulement 1 heure, 47 minutes,...

En voir +
12 novembre
Article

Les dernières 24h vers Bahia

L'épilogue de la Transat Jacques Vabre est tout proche pour les premiers. Passé sous la barre des 500 milles de l'arrivée cet après-mid, le duo de tête connaît en effet ses dernières heures de mer sur cette 13e édition. En ce septième jour de course, la hiérarchie reste inchangée et la fin de régate passionnante. Après 4 000 milles de course, le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild et Sodebo Ultim' sont toujours très proches, même si au cours de ces dernières heures Thomas Coville et Jean-Luc...

En voir +
11 novembre
Article

Le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild en embuscade

La Zone de Convergence Inter-Tropicale, qu'il a abordé hier soir par 8° Nord, n'a été qu'une formalité pour le duo Edmond de Rothschild. Vraisemblablement moins ralentis que leurs concurrents sous les grains, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel ont profité de la 6e nuit de mer pour revenir au contact de Sodebo Ultim'. Au pointage de 13h, tandis que la sortie du Pot-au-Noir semblait se profiler, le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild pointait à 7,4 milles du tableau arrière du leader de la Transat Jacques...

En voir +
10 novembre
Article

En approche du Pot-au-Noir

Le duel qui oppose le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild et Sodebo Ultim' est plus que jamais d'actualité en tête de course de la Transat Jacques Vabre. Les deux ouvreurs ont débordé les îles du Cap Vert dans la journée et s'apprêtent à entrer dans le fameux Pot-au-Noir. Redoutée par les marins pour son côté aléatoire, la Zone de Convergence Inter-tropicale semble cependant se présenter sous son meilleur jour pour Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel. C'est en tous les cas ce qu'il ressort pour...

En voir +
09 novembre
Article

Du chassé au chasseur

Leaders depuis dimanche et les toutes premières heures de cette Transat Jacques Vabre, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel ont cédé hier soir leur fauteuil au duo Coville - Nélias. Une passation de pouvoir qui s'explique par un mauvais placement des hommes du Gitana Team au passsage des Açores, et non du fait d'un problème technique ou d'une avarie, comme cela a pu être imaginé par certains observateurs. Quoiqu'il en soit, après plus de trois jours de mer dominé par le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild...

En voir +
08 novembre
Article

Dépression africaine sur la route

Avec plus de 1 600 milles parcourus sur les 4 350 que compte la route entre Le Havre et Salvador de Bahia, le duo Josse-Rouxel a d'ores et déjà couvert plus d'un tiers du parcours et ce après trois jours de mer. Il est certain que les conditions météorologiques que rencontrent les ouvreurs de cette Transat Jacques Vabre sont propices à la glisse tout autant qu'à la vitesse, et les marins ne se gênent pas. Depuis hier soir et son passage par le travers des Açores, le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild...

En voir +
07 novembre
Article

Les Açores dans la soirée

Leaders depuis les toutes premières heures de cette 13e édition, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel emmènent toujours la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre vers Salvador de Bahia. À bord du Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, le duo a parfaitement négocié le passage d'un front froid la nuit dernière et fait désormais cap au Sud, en direction des alizés de Nord-Est. Il compte 66 milles d'avance sur son plus proche concurrent, Sodebo Ultim', au classement de 16h. Avec 950 milles parcourus depuis le...

En voir +
06 novembre
Article

En première ligne

Partie du Havre hier à 13h35, la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre est, ce midi, emmenée par le duo Josse - Rouxel à bord du Maxi Edmond de Rothschild. Auteurs d'un départ prudent au pied du Cap de la Hève, les marins du Gitana Team n'ont cependant pas tardé à lâcher les chevaux et à démontrer le potentiel du dernier-né des Gitana. Après une sortie de Manche express, effacée en 9h et à plus de 28 nœuds de moyenne, Sébastien et Thomas font actuellement cap à l'Ouest en approche d'un...

En voir +
05 novembre
Grand format

La 13e édition est lancée !

Bon départ ! Comme prévu la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre s'est élancée ce dimanche 5 novembre à 13h35 précises au pied du Cap de la Hève, non loin des falaises de Sainte-Adresse. Dans un vent medium de secteur Ouest à Nord-Ouest d'une vingtaine de nœuds et une mer agitée et creuse, les 37 duos de marins en lice ont mis le cap sur Salvador de Bahia au Brésil, soit 4 350 milles à courir devant les étraves. À la barre du Maxi-Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel...

En voir +
04 novembre
Article

Des conditions propices à la vitesse

Demain, à 13h35, s'élancera la 13e édition de la Transat Jacques Vabre. À la veille du grand départ, les prévisions météorologiques se précisent et le début de course s'annonce rapide. Les conditions se muscleront dès la Pointe Bretagne parée pour un passage de front annoncé lundi en fin de journée. Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel seront rapidement dans le vif de sujet.

En voir +
03 novembre
Grand format

La symbiose du duo

Dans moins de quarante-huit heures, les 38 duos en lice dans la Transat Jacques Vabre s'élanceront pour la 13e édition de cette célèbre transatlantique en double à destination du Brésil. À bord du Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel, rompus à ces phases d'avant-départ, préparent sereinement leur course et se plient encore volontiers au jeu des sollicitations médiatiques. Demain, avec le dernier briefing prévu à 10h, où sera notamment évoqué la météo des...

En voir +
01 novembre
Article

Transat Jacques Vabre, un parcours Nord-Sud à destination du Brésil

Du Havre à Salvador de Bahia, 4 350 milles conduiront la flotte de la Transat Jacques Vabre de la côte d'Albâtre au large des eaux brésiliennes. Cette longue diagonale de l'hémisphère Nord à l'hémisphère Sud est un sprint sur l'Atlantique avec un temps de course estimé de 8 à 10 jours pour les Ultime, dont fait partie le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild. Offrant un tracé tout aussi riche qu'exigeant, tant d'un point de vue météorologique que stratégique, la Route du Café n'est autre que...

En voir +
31 octobre
Grand format

Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, pionnier du genre

Le 17 juillet dernier, après vingt mois de construction et plus de 35 000 heures d'études, Ariane et Benjamin de Rothschild mettaient à l'eau le dernier-né de leur écurie de course au large. Le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, grand trimaran océanique de 32 mètres pour 23 mètres de large faisait ainsi son entrée dans la longue et singulière lignée des Gitana. Dimanche prochain au Havre, Gitana 17 sera le premier multicoque conçu pour voler en haute mer à s'élancer sur une transatlantique,...

En voir +
27 octobre
Grand format

En place au Havre !

Le convoyage entre Lorient et Le Havre aura réclamé une bonne dose de patience au duo du Gitana Team. Partis de leur base morbihannaise mercredi en fin d'après-midi, Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel ont posé pied en terre normande ce vendredi en début d'après-midi. 300 milles nautiques, peu de chose à l'échelle de ce que peut habituellement couvrir le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild, mais cela était sans compter sur un temps de demoiselle persistant qui les aura accompagné tout au long de leur...

En voir +
24 octobre
Grand format

À la rencontre de l'équipage du Maxi Edmond de Rothschild

Demain, le Maxi Edmond de Rothschild quittera son port d'attache lorientais pour mettre le cap vers Le Havre, d'où sera donné le départ de la Transat Jacques Vabre dans 12 jours. Le dernier-né des Gitana est attendu dans le port de la cité normande au plus tard vendredi, le 27 octobre, date du début des festivités havraises. À son bord, lors de ce convoyage de quelques 300 milles marqué par le petit temps, prendront place Sébastien Josse et Thomas Rouxel. Ce duo aura la chance de mener...

En voir +
+
D'actualités