EXTREME 40 GROUPE EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

A fully carbon, 40-foot one-design catamaran, the Extreme 40 Edmond de Rothschild competed for 4 seasons (2009-2012) in the international Extreme Sailing Series circuit.

FRA 40

Sail number

GITANA EXTREME
Given name
Category 40-foot catamaran Length 12.19 m
Year of launch 2009 Naval architect(s) Yves Loday
Upwind sail area 100 m² Downwind sail area 153 m²

Born from the collaboration of the Olympic Tornado champion, Yves Loday, and the Tornado Sport company, this boat is particularly sensitive to trimming and has an interesting distinction: she can be fully dismantled and has been designed and built to fit into the equivalent length container. This enables the members of the shore crew to assemble her and rig her in one day, and above all, she can be taken along to some rather atypical race zones, which are unique to the Extreme Sailing Series circuit.

Indeed, behind this 40-foot catamaran, more than just a craft, there is a whole concept. Launched in 2007 on the initiative of OC Sport, the Extreme Sailing Series has enjoyed increasing success, going on to become one of the reference circuits on an international scale thanks to some top-flight line-ups where dinghy sailing champions and offshore aficionados, all nationalities combined, cross tacks with one another and compete on equal terms. From the outset, the aim asserted by the organisers was to enable the public to get right up close to the action and thus democratise sailing a little more, in a resolutely spectacular ambiance. This is why they have always favoured race zones that are immediately bordering the coast, or within the cities themselves: in the very heart of the canals of Amsterdam, at the foot of the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado mountains in Rio de Janeiro as well as on the Turkish waters of the Bosphorus… The only one of its kind, this circuit combines a clever mixture of competition and spectacle, proving to be tremendously successful for the owner of Gitana Team during the various multihull Grand Prix events.


Always at the front of the fleet, winning a number of meetings and a plethora of podiums in the annual championship over the course of its four seasons on the circuit, the crew of Edmond de Rothschild was unquestionably one of the major protagonists of the series from 2009 to 2012.

Track record

  • 2011-2012
  • Winner of the Nice Grand Prix 2011 and 2012
  • Winner of the Oman Grand Prix
  • 2010
  • Winner of the Sète Grand Prix
  • Winner of the Kiel Grand Prix
  • 2009
  • Winner of the Venice Grand Prix
  • Winner of the Amsterdam Grand Prix
  • 2nd in the Annual Championship in 2009, 2010 and 2011
  • 2012
  • 3rd in the Annual Championship

EXTREME 40 GROUPE EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

Catamaran monotype tout en carbone de 40 pieds, l’Extreme 40 Edmond de Rothschild a concouru pendant quatre saisons - de 2009 à 2012 - sur le circuit international des Extreme Sailing Series.

FRA 40

N° de voile

GITANA EXTREME
Nom de baptême
Catégorie Catamaran 40 pieds Longueur 12.19 m
Année de mise à l'eau 2009 Architecte(s) Yves Loday
Surface près 100 m² Surface portant 153 m²

Né de la collaboration du champion olympique de Tornado, Yves Loday, et de la société Tornado Sport, ce bateau sensible aux réglages présente une particularité intéressante : il est entièrement démontable et a été pensé et construit pour tenir dans un container égal à sa longueur. Cela permet aux membres de l’équipe technique de le monter et le gréer en une journée, mais surtout de l’emmener sur des sites de navigations atypiques propres au circuit des Extreme Sailing Series.

Car derrière ce catamaran de 40 pieds, plus qu’un support il y a tout un concept. Lancés en 2007 à l'initiative d'OC Sport, les Extreme Sailing Series ont connu un essor grandissant jusqu'à devenir l'un des circuits références au niveau international et ce grâce à des plateaux de qualité où champions de voile légère et aficionados du large, tous nationalités confondues, se côtoient et s’affrontent à armes égales. Dès les premières heures, l’objectif affirmé des organisateurs était de permettre au public de vivre les courses au plus près et d'ainsi démocratiser un peu plus la voile, le tout dans une tonalité résolument spectaculaire. C’est pourquoi ils ont toujours favorisé les plans d’eau à proximité immédiate des côtes, voire au sein même des villes : en plein cœur des canaux d'Amsterdam, au pied du Pain de Sucre et du Corcovado de Rio de Janeiro ou encore dans les eaux turques du Bosphore … Unique en son genre, ce circuit allie un savant mélange de compétition et de spectacle tant plébiscité par l’armateur du Gitana Team du temps des Grands Prix de multicoques.


Toujours présent aux avant-postes en remportant de nombreux rendez-vous et sur les podiums du championnat annuel au cours de ses quatre saisons de participation, l’équipage Edmond de Rothschild a été sans conteste l’un des grands animateurs du circuit de 2009 à 2012.

Le palmarès

  • 2011-2012
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix de Nice 2011 et 2012
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix d’Oman
  • 2010
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix de Sète
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix de Kiel
  • 2009
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix de Venise
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Grand Prix d’Amsterdam
  • 2e
    2e du Championnat annuel en 2009, 2010 et 2011
  • 2012
  • 3e
    3e du Championnat annuel